Gasline board picks new chair: Doug Smith


The board of the Alaska Gasline Development Agency made leadership changes this morning.

Doug Smith was elected board chair as one of the first orders of business during the first meeting of the year.

Smith, who was appointed to the board earlier this week by Gov. Michael Dunleavy, takes over from Dave Cruz, who has been board chairman throughout most of Gov. Bill Walker’s tenure since Walker fired board chair John Burns in 2015. Burns was an appointee of former Gov. Sean Parnell.

Cruz made the nomination, and the vote was unanimous. The two men quickly changed places in the AGDC meeting room. Also, new board member Dan Coffey was named vice chair and Warren Christian is board secretary.

Smith is the former president of Little Red Services, an oil field “hot oil” services company that was acquired by Arctic Slope Native Corporation in 2014.

[Read: Dunleavy changes gasline board]

The board then immediately went into executive session to discuss personnel issues. Check back with Must Read Alaska for this developing story.


  1. Given the recent change-up in leadership at AGDC, what can the Alaska public expect from the ongoing effort and investment of the AGDC? Will the new leadership offer any “new” goals to achieve, and if so, what are they? By when can we expect results from this new leadership?

Comments are closed.