Sunday, September 24, 2023
HomePoliticsKetchikan ballot set for October

Ketchikan ballot set for October

The deadline for filing for Ketchikan’s Oct. 5 municipal and borough races closed last week, with five people signed up as candidates for the two open slots on the Ketchikan Borough Assembly.

Jason Button, Grant EchoHawk, Carlos Weimer, Jaimie Palmer, and Darlene D-Svenson filed for the three-year seat being vacated by Assemblyman Sven Westergard, and the seat being vacated by Assemblyman Felix Wong, who is term-limited.

- Advertisement -

The five candidates for the three Ketchikan School Board seats are incumbent Nicole Anderson, along with Keenan Sanderson, Tom Heutte, Ali Ginter, and Stephen Bradford.

School Board President Kim Hodne and School Board member Doug Gregg are not running for reelection. They were each finishing out board vacancies.

For Ketchikan mayor, Dave Kiffer is running unopposed. Ketchikan Mayor Bob Sivertsen did not file.

Two Ketchikan City Council seats have three candidates on the ballot: Incumbent Janalee Gage, Jai Mahtani, and Lallette Kistler, as Councilman Sam Bergeron did not file for reelection.

Suzanne Downing
Suzanne Downing
Suzanne Downing had careers in business and journalism before serving as the Director of Faith and Community-based Initiatives for Florida Gov. Jeb Bush and returning to Alaska to serve as speechwriter for Gov. Sean Parnell. Born on the Oregon coast, she moved to Alaska in 1969.

Most Popular