Saturday, September 23, 2023
HomeAlmanacParty on: Alaska Republican Party issues call for convention for Fairbanks, April...

Party on: Alaska Republican Party issues call for convention for Fairbanks, April 21-23

The Alaska Republican Party State Central Committee has set the time and place for its biennial convention this year: April 21 – 23, at the Westmark Hotel and Conference Center, 813 Noble St, Fairbanks.

The party’s State Central Committee authorized 350 delegates, and the convention fee is $275, said Ann Brown, ARP chairwoman.

- Advertisement -

Every two years, at the District level, the party elects local officers , delegates and alternates to the state convention, where it elects statewide executive committee officers, proposes changes to the state party platform and rules, and organizes for up-coming campaigns. This year, the House and Senate districts have changed, requiring a realignment of district chairs in many parts of the Railbelt.

The hotels in Fairbanks may book quickly that week due to military exercises expected at Eielson Air Force Base in April. Although the state party has not yet posted hotel booking codes on its website, that will be the place to check for special room rates.

Those who are not party officers may attend as nonvoting participants, but must be registered as Republicans and will need to register at the party’s website.

Suzanne Downing
Suzanne Downing
Suzanne Downing had careers in business and journalism before serving as the Director of Faith and Community-based Initiatives for Florida Gov. Jeb Bush and returning to Alaska to serve as speechwriter for Gov. Sean Parnell. Born on the Oregon coast, she moved to Alaska in 1969.


  1. Given the state of our Republican party, I expect an N95 muzzle mandate, a triple vaxx requirement, and a quiz on the Communist Manifesto to enter the building

  2. A conference of losers, liars, and hypocrites. The only thing worse than Democrats in Alaska are Republicans. Democrats at least will admit they hate you.

  3. Current and former Alaska “Republicans”

    Bill Walker
    Cathy Giessel
    Click Bishop
    Natasha Von Imhof
    Louise Stukes
    Josh Revak
    Bert Steadman
    Kelly Merrick
    Sarah Rasmussen
    Gary Knopp

Comments are closed.

Most Popular