Conservatives win seats on Palmer City Council


The unofficial results are in for Tuesday’s election in Palmer: Steve Carrington and Pam Melin, both Republicans, won three-year seats on the Palmer City Council. The results are expected to be formalized at the Oct. 11 meeting of the City Council.

Coming in third was incumbent undeclared Julie Berberich, and Democrat Lee Henrickson came in fourth. Turnout was 14.2 percent of eligible voters.

Carrington has served four terms for the City of Palmer, starting in 2001-2005, and 2013-2019, again in 2019- 2021.

Berberich’s replacement, Pam Melin, has served on the Planning and Zoning Commission. The council is made up of six members, with three of them considered conservative; one Democrat and two Undeclared registrants make up the rest of the council.

Palmer Mayor Edna DeVries is running for Mat-Su Borough mayor against Matthew Beck. Former Wasilla Mayor Bert Cottle has withdrawn. DeVries’ term as mayor ends in October, 2022, which may necessitate a special election for mayor to complete that term.

The Mat-Su Borough election is Nov. 2.


  1. Congratulations to the wise voters who want to stop the madness. Dominion and the mail in ballots boooooo who to you. The citizens win this time ha ha, judges assembly school board murkowski you all bring a box to work time to scat. Alaska citizens we are all we got to fix the problem. Thank you for the light at the end of the clowns madness. Democrats GOD is watching.

    • Your handle here is priceless!
      Now, maybe I need to change mine to “Steve-O Shopping for New Sheeps’ Clothing While Trying to Hide His Wolf’s Fangs”.

  2. « Turnout was 14.2% of eligible voters. »
    Regardless of one’s political leaning, it is absolutely tragic that citizens in a democracy do not consider voting as a civic obligation.
    Thank you to those who did vote.

Comments are closed.