Juneau Assembly election is four for four - Must Read Alaska
Connect with:
Monday, September 28, 2020
HomePoliticsJuneau Assembly election is four for four

Juneau Assembly election is four for four

The filing deadline has come and gone for Juneau’s Oct. 1 municipal election. Those who filed for the four seats on the City and Borough Assembly are all-but-guaranteed to win: There are only four candidate for four open seats.

Carole Triem, incumbent, will run unopposed for her areawide seat.

Wade Bryson, incumbent for Assembly District 2, has filed.

Alicia Hughes-Skandijs, an incumbent, and Greg Smith are the candidates for the two District 1 seats.

Assembly member Mary Becker is term-limited for District 1, after serving three terms.

For Juneau School Board, five are running for two seats: Martin Stepetin, Emil Robert Mackey III, Bonnie Jensen, Deedie Sorensen, and  Amanda Ryder,

Voting in municipal elections is conducted on an areawide basis in Juneau, so voters may cast a ballot in all races on the ballot.

Donations Welcome


Written by

Suzanne Downing had careers in business and journalism before serving as the Director of Faith and Community-based Initiatives for Florida Gov. Jeb Bush and returning to Alaska to serve as speechwriter for Gov. Sean Parnell. Born on the Oregon coast, she moved to Alaska in 1969.

No comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

%d bloggers like this: