

## **District 29 Resolution of Senator Sanctions**

December 2024

<u>Whereas</u> Elected officials who engage in any activities prohibited by or contrary to ARP Rules are subject to sanction or censure, per Article VII, Section 1(b); and

<u>Whereas</u> Senators Stevens, Stedman, Giessel, Merrick, and Bjorkman have joined a Majority Caucus where more than 1/3 of its members are non-Republicans, in violation of ARP 2024 Republican Party Rules, Article VII, Section 1(e); and

<u>Whereas</u> ARP Platform Principal #5 states that we expect ethical conduct, transparency, and accountability from our elected and appointed officials; and

<u>Whereas</u> Senators Stevens, Stedman, Giessel, Merrick, and Bjorkman ran for office as Republicans, but refused to caucus with other Republicans in the State Senate to form a Republican Majority, thereby giving majority control to Democrats; and

<u>Whereas</u> Senators Stevens, Stedman, Giessel, Merrick, and Bjorkman have joined Majority Caucuses where more than 1/3 of its members were non-Republicans in previous sessions<sup>,</sup> again giving majority control to Democrats; and

<u>Whereas</u> Senators Stevens, Stedman, Giessel, and Merrick have a consistent record of flipping Alaska's legislative bodies from Republican to Democrat majorities.

<u>Therefore</u> District 29 calls for sanctioning of Senators Stevens, Stedman, Giessel, Merrick, and Bjorkman by their districts in accordance with ARP Rules, Article VII, Section 2(b), and sanctioning by the ARP in accordance to ARP Rules in Article VII, Section 3(b) and Section 4. District 29 calls upon the ARP to recruit challengers for these senators.

<u>Furthermore</u> District 29 calls for <u>permanent</u> sanctioning of Stevens, Stedman, Giessel, and Merrick to include <u>permanent</u> censure, declaring these elected officials <u>permanently</u> ineligible for endorsement or support by the ARP or its affiliates, and <u>permanently</u> prohibiting participation in ARP events, and any other appropriate sanction not disallowed by ARP or RNC Rules.

Passed by District 29 on December \_\_\_\_\_, 2024

Casey Campbell, District 29 Chair



## **District 29 Resolution of Senator Sanctions**

December 2024

## History / Background of the Senate

<u>Senator Gary Stevens</u> was first elected as a Representative from 2001-2004, then a Senator from 2004-present.

https://www.akleg.gov/basis/mbr\_bio.asp?id=856

He was Senate President 2009-2012, when he led a bi-partisan Senate that sent the state budget through the roof. The upward trend did not begin to reverse until he left the Presidency. <u>https://www.dropbox.com/scl/fi/4dp234em3g1ukw83plgls/senate-bi-partisan-</u> 14680643 1306603412683024 2446065924849726678 n.pdf?rlkey=ietr3srk1dzbzacs6wctrnchf&st=nw13ci8p&dl=0

Senator Bert Stedman was elected to the Senate from 2003-present.

https://www.akleg.gov/basis/mbr\_bio.asp?id=849

He also has a bi-partisan history, dating back to the first one with Senator Gary Stevens. <u>https://www.dropbox.com/scl/fi/4dp234em3g1ukw83plgls/senate-bi-partisan-</u> <u>14680643</u> <u>1306603412683024</u> <u>2446065924849726678</u> <u>n.pdf?rlkey=ietr3srk1dzbzacs6wctrnchf&st=nw13ci8p&dl=0</u>

<u>Senator Cathy Giessel</u> was first elected to State Senate in 2011-2018, and then became Senate President 2019-2020, was voted out 2021-2022, and then voted back in 2023-present. https://www.akleg.gov/basis/mbr\_bio.asp?id=717

https://mustreadalaska.com/?s=giessel

While Cathy Giessel was Senate President, Senator Gary Stevens and Senator Bert Stedman were in senate leadership, and that leadership stripped Republican Senators Shower, Hughes, and Reinbold of their committee assignments and chairmanships.

https://mustreadalaska.com/senator-shower-stripped-of-staff-by-senate-leadership/

In <u>2023-2024</u> a majority was formed giving control of the Senate to Democrats, even though the majority of Senators elected were Republicans. Senator Gary Stevens was Senate President. <u>https://www.akleg.gov/basis/mbr\_info.asp?session=33</u>

Republican Senators Shower, Hughes, and Myers were excluded from the majority, from committees, and from chairmanships. Their removal gave Democrats the majority.

https://alaskabeacon.com/2023/01/19/seventeen-of-20-alaska-senators-are-in-the-majority-what-about-the-otherthree/

https://mustreadalaska.com/integrity-recognition-district-29-republicans-vote-support-appreciation-for-three-statesenators-who-stayed-true/

https://alaskasenateminority.com/

<u>Senator Kelly Merrick</u> was first elected as Representative from 2019-2022, then elected Senator 2023present.

https://www.akleg.gov/basis/mbr\_bio.asp?id=1615

When she was Representative, Kelly Merrick betrayed voters and put Democrats in the majority. <u>https://mustreadalaska.com/should-merrick-pay-a-price/</u>



## **District 29 Resolution of Senator Sanctions**

December 2024

https://mustreadalaska.com/why-we-censured-rep-kelly-merrick-in-district-14/

<u>Senator Jesse Bjorkman</u> was elected to Senate 2023-present. <u>https://www.akleg.gov/basis/mbr\_bio.asp?id=1647</u> <u>https://mustreadalaska.com/bob-bird-vote-ben-carpenter-for-state-senate/</u>

<u>2024-2025</u> 11 Republican Senators Elected, out of 20 total. Senate Minority: Shower, Hughes, Myer, Yundt, Cronk, Kaufman Senator Stevens is Senate President <u>again</u>, and we <u>again</u> have a Democrat controlled majority. <u>https://mustreadalaska.com/status-quo-alaska-senate-with-mostly-same-members-to-keep-bipartisan-coalition/ https://mustreadalaska.com/kaufman-withdraws-from-senate-democrat-bloc-while-four-republicans-stay-put-forpower/</u>